Wrapping Things Up, Looking Back At J2150

One more week: one lecture, two labs. That’s all that’s left of J2150 for this semester. I keep saying how fast this semester went by, and that’s because of how busy I was. I’ve never had to work this hard before, and I didn’t even have time to think about getting to the end of the year. Before I knew it, it was already here.

Now I’m not done by any means in J2150 as my final project team has a big presentation on Tuesday and an online lesson review exam on Thursday. I’ve began studying for the exam on Thursday and starting to gather my thoughts on what I’m going to say about our awesome website on Tuesday.

I’m incredibly proud of our website and the collective efforts of Thomas, Leo, and myself to make the final project the best it can be. I’ve said in a previous blog that I was happy to work with these guys because we all brought something different to the table, and we all did a terrific job on our individual projects within the entirety of the project.

Ron Davis poses for a photo in the hallway at Walter Williams Hall on Thursday, April 30th, 2015 in Columbia, Mo. Davis had this photo taken to include in the About The Authors section for his J2150 Final Project website. MANDATORY CREDIT: Thomas Friested -J2150H
Ron Davis poses for a photo in the hallway at Walter Williams Hall on Thursday, April 30th, 2015 in Columbia, Mo. Davis had this photo taken to include in the About The Authors section for his J2150 Final Project website. MANDATORY CREDIT: Thomas Friested -J2150H

I was in charge of the video production and I truly believe that this video is the best piece of work I’ve done as a journalist so far. Now this is my first year in the journalism program, but I’ve done a good amount of blogs, articles, and videos for MUTV, TrumansTales.com, and J2150. I feel like I’ve grown a lot since the beginning of the semester, and I attribute a lot of that growth to J2150.

Like I said, I’ve never had to work this hard before, and I’ve grown to like it. The beginning of J2150 was extremely overwhelming, and it’s fair to say my early work was not my best work. I learned that it takes an incredible amount of discipline and attention to detail to succeed in this class, and I simply didn’t have it at the beginning.

I still have a long way to go in both of those departments, but I like to think I’ve grown up a lot over the course of this class. Once I learned what was required for exceptional work, the workload increased but slowed down, and actually became a lot more fun.

I had a great time with the final project and working with Thomas and Leo, and there’s no doubt that the video editing was stressful. At the same time anything worth working for is stressful, and becoming a splendid journalist is something worth working very hard for.

This semester I’ve learned to appreciate and even enjoy the process of working hard. I’ve had a lot of long nights of finishing my work for this class, but I can look back on it in a very positive light. At the very least this class was a wake-up call for me, and I’ve learned far more than how a camera works, and the post-production of a video.

I’m excited to see what lies ahead for me in journalism classes, but I’ll wait until after Thursday to really think about that. There’s still going to be an awesome presentation on Tuesday, an exam that will go very well on Thursday, and cleaned up mistakes in our website by next Monday.

It feels like just yesterday when my stomach dropped learning of all these assignments I’d have to do on the first day of J2150, and what really feels like a blink of an eye, we’re wrapping things up. I never thought I’d say this, but I’m going to miss this class.

Leave a Reply

