Our Final Battle

J2150 has flown by this semester, and after what felt like a blink of an eye, I am editing my final project. My team and I still have some work to do, but for the most part it’s just going to be editing our own individual assignments and touching up our website for the CoMO Smash Scene.

For the rough presentation of my video, it felt rough, but I’m happy that I learned exactly what I’m missing.

The interviews scared me because both were conducted in an area that had lots of background noise. One of the interviews was fine and audible but the other one wasn’t quite as much. The subject of the inaudible interview happened to be the winner of the CoMOMo III singles, Robert Fraser, or the main focus of my video.

Ron Davis holds a Gamecube controller in his apartment in Columbia, Mo on Saturday, April 25th, 2015. The Gamecube controller is the most common one in Super Smash Brothers play.
Ron Davis holds a Gamecube controller in his apartment in Columbia, Mo on Saturday, April 25th, 2015. The Gamecube controller is the most common one in Super Smash Brothers play.

I’ve contacted Fraser about meeting up to re-do the interview, but haven’t heard from him yet. If I’m unable to meet with him, I will do my best to make the interview as audible as possible. I’m really hoping to use the original interview as Fraser was pretty candid about Super Smash Brothers and I think he had a lot of passion for the game despite his quite tone.

Other than the interviews, it’s all about piecing together b-roll and a five-shot sequence. There’s a lot of b-roll to go through, but I’m happy I took as much as I did to best narrate the story.

Speaking of narrating the story, another element to the video will be a voiceover. Combine that with a stand-up, I think it’ll strengthen an already strong idea.

There are two work days before submitting the project at the end of class on Thursday. Thomas, Leo, and I will be working diligently to make the website and our individual assignments the best they can be. No excuses.

Leave a Reply

