TV Style Video: Growing Over Break, Grown After

I find this hard to believe, but I am one assignment away from completing the seven week project in J2150. It honestly just felt like yesterday I was scrambling to find three ideas for this project and thankfully I was able to find Integrow, and it’s been a lot of fun working with them for the duration of it.

I haven’t been able to say this since the semester started, but I don’t have that much to do this week. I have regular homework to do for each class and have one exam, but the way the workload has been this semester, it is the perfect transition into spring break.

That doesn’t mean that I’m going to be sitting on my hands for the TV Style Video that’s due at the end of the month, the week after spring break. Due to a canceled practice last week I wasn’t able to get the exact footage that I wanted for the short video

Integrow's microphone waits to be sang into by one of their two singers. Integrow last played a show on Thursday, Mar. 5th, 2015 at The Bridge in Columbia, Mo.
Integrow’s microphone waits to be sang into by one of their two singers. Integrow last played a show on Thursday, Mar. 5th, 2015 at The Bridge in Columbia, Mo.

Because of this, I had to use a lot of b-roll that I took as my sequence, and the short video didn’t turn out the way it was supposed to. The next time I go to Integrow’s practice I’m going to redo and follow the sequence guidelines.

Submitting storyboards is a new requirement that is going to make us plan out our shots for our sequences. When I submitted last week’s storyboard, I was under the impression that a band practice was happening the next day. Even if that did happen, it wasn’t the correct format and I learned that a sequence is of the same person but in different shots. My storyboard last week didn’t fit that criteria, and I’m going to do a better job of planning out good shots this time around.

I have some time on my hands, and I’m going to use it to plan and make the TV Style Video my best piece of work as a journalist so far in my very young career.

Leave a Reply

