MediaStorm: Becoming A True Member of the Media

This past week in my J2150 class we had to watch an online lesson from MediaStorm.com and take a quiz on what was said. The lesson was a little over an hour and Brian Storm, the founder of the website, sat down and talked about how to have a good interview, and take the interview and put it into post production.

The lesson was divided into three parts: audio, stills, and video. The majority of the lesson was devoted to audio because it is the most important part of multimedia journalism. I learned that even if my pictures and video were not the best and my audio was good then people would still pay attention to my final product. If it were the other way around then they would click the red X very quickly.

I found the lesson extremely rewarding, as I will be doing several interviews for Integrow, a rock band that I’m doing my seven week project on. I only wish I watched it earlier in the year as I interviewed some Missouri football players at a media day in October for MUTV Sports.

Ron Davis takes a picture of himself before Mizzou football media day in his home in Columbia, Mo on Monday, Oct. 6th 2014. This media day Davis' first ever sports package with MUTV.
Ron Davis takes a picture of himself before Mizzou football media day in his home in Columbia, Mo on Monday, Oct. 6th 2014. This media day Davis’ first ever sports package with MUTV.

That was my first real interview I’ve done and it didn’t go as well as I’d hoped. I felt awkward, and I couldn’t think on my feet. Knowing what I know now from the MediaStorm lesson, I would have felt a lot more confident and asked better open-ended questions.

I’ve grown a lot as a journalist since then, and I’m continuing to grow. Tomorrow I’m attending Integrow’s band practice to take better pictures for my 5-photo assignment re-submission and get some interviews for my first audio slideshow that is due on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

