Seven Week Project: Taking Pictures Rocked

This past week certainly was not the best for me. I was sick earlier in the week, homework and studying kind of piled on me, and now I am experiencing a major issue with my computer. I had to put all that aside be ready for Thursday because that was when I went out and officially started my Seven Week Project.

The band that I’ll be doing my project, Integrow, played a show on Thursday here in Columbia at the Rose Music Hall. I thought this would be a perfect time to check out a camera and take some picture of them in action.The band didn’t go on until 11:30, but I got there around 9:30 to give myself some time to get a feel for the kind of music that was going to be played and I had a chance to meet the entire band that I’ll be working with.

I had my camera with me waiting for Integrow to take the stage, but as I listened to the bands that played before them, I was able to not be a journalist and just take in the atmosphere of Rose Music Hall.

From left to right Tara McPherson, Adam McPherson, and Todd McVicker perform at the Rose Music Hall in Columbia, Mo on Thursday Feb. 12 2015. Their band, Integrow, played for a half hour.
From left to right Tara McPherson, Adam McPherson, and Todd McVicker perform at the Rose Music Hall in Columbia, Mo on Thursday Feb. 12 2015. Their band, Integrow, played for a half hour.

Right off the bat, I knew that it was going to be loud, I mean very loud. I said in last week’s blog post that I mostly have been listening to rap my whole life but I do have an appreciation for good rock music. Now because it was so loud I didn’t exactly know what these bands were singing. Nevertheless I did enjoy the bands that went on before, and the crowd was totally into the music.

When Integrow came on, it was easy. I moved all around the crowd trying to get the best pictures of the band in action. I think I took around 350 pictures that night and now I have to narrow it down to the best five. I am familiar with some of their music, but they debuted two new songs. Out of all the bands that played, Integrow had the crowd the loudest.

When they finally got off the stage at midnight, I went home and it felt like I was deaf in an ear. That said, I think it was the most fun I’ve ever had doing homework, and it definitely took my mind off the troubles I had earlier in the week. There’s a lot more ahead for this project, but I’m off to a good start.

Leave a Reply

