Seven Week Project: Growing Into A Multimedia Journalist

Entering week four of the 2015 Spring semester, I am finally starting to settle into a routine with the workload for all my classes. There’s still no doubt that J2150 will require the most of my attention, especially with our Seven Week Project starting.Now with the Seeing Red assignment under my belt, I am ready to get started with the project.

Over the next seven weeks, I will be working with Integrow, a rock/blues band that plays all around Columbia. Intergrow just released their first album not even a month ago. They’re in the process of making more songs. I am excited to work with an up-and-coming group like this, and they appear to be excited to work with me.

I admit, I love to listen to rap and hip-hop all the time. I do appreciate other genres though, and I really liked Integrow’s first album Lotus and I’m intrigued to see how they build on such a strong start.

A drum set sits in the room of one of Ron's roommates on Saturday, Feb. 7, 2015 in Columbia, Mo. Though he normally appreciates the sound of drums, Ron did not like when his roommate played the drums at 11 PM earlier in the week
A drum set sits in the room of one of Ron’s roommates on Saturday, Feb. 7, 2015 in Columbia, Mo. Though he normally appreciates the sound of drums, Ron did not like when his roommate played the drums at 11 PM earlier in the week

While I have a lot to do over the next seven weeks, I’m feeling calmer because the band was the subject I chose myself. If I think about it, it’s actually a really cool assignment. Once I get familiar with all the equipment, it’ll feel like I’m a professional journalist whose job it is covering a band.

Leave a Reply

